The Journal of T.J. Thompson (Johnson) Book 4

Months after the shooting and the trial, the Thompsons and the Johnsons got their lives back on track. They went to church just like they always do. T.J. got her voice back after weeks of reconstructive surgery on her windpipe. She still uses sign language whether she’s volunteering at the hospital with the deaf kids or annoying her half-sisters Nyisha and Farrah. Even Meghan joined in on the joke with her stepsister. The girl don’t normally use the words half-sister and stepsister often. T.J. calls them all her sisters considering that Meghan isn’t her blood relative. T.J., Meghan and Chuckie shared an unique bond because they each lost a parent (Sheryl, who died of a brain aneurysm; Terrell, who was killed by a psychotic ex-girlfriend’s daughter-in-law; Troy, who was struck by an unknown car). Randy stepped up as a father figure for Meghan during this tough time. Dee Dee did the same for T.J. and Chuckie considering she already loves the twins like her own children. The three of them (T.J., Meghan, and Chuckie) were instantly welcome into the Johnson family.

Two hours later, the whole gang meet up at the Thompsons house for lunch. Stephen starts firing up the grill before putting some chicken and burgers on it. Randy grabbed several packs of hamburger buns from the refrigerator. The girls were making fruit salad for the children. Marlon and Mark grabbed a few grapes off the table to eat. “Hey…don’t spoil your appetite, boys,” Dee Dee warns them. “Okay, Grandma,” they said. “So how are you doing these days,” Farrah asked her sister as the boys leave the room. “I’m good,” T.J. said. “It wasn’t too long ago when this one pointed a gun to her head and ready to pull the trigger,” Nyisha said. In a split second, T.J. had a flashback about her sudden suicide attempt. She started to feel her chest tightening. Michelle rushes over as this was happening. “Hey there…take a deep breath,” she said calmly. T.J. did exactly what Michelle said. “Are you okay, honey,” Dee Dee asked. “Yeah…I’m okay,” T.J. said softly. “Hey, girls…everything’s all right in here,” Stephen questioned them. “Yeah…we’re good,” Meghan said. Then T.J. sat down at the table as they talked.

Randy went over to his daughter and said, “Your panic attacks are getting bad, aren’t they?” “It’s that obvious, huh,” T.J. said. “Yep,” he said. “I couldn’t lie if I wanted to, Dad,” she said, “I held up my end of the promise. Did you?” “Of course I did…the last thing I wanna do is hurt my family,” he said, “Are you sure you’re okay, Tiffani?” Stephen brought her a cup of water. “Here you go, sport,” they heard him say. “Thank you,” she said as he gave her the cup. “Take it easy, honey,” Dee Dee said. T.J. took a small sip of water and set the cup on the table. “You okay, sis,” Michelle asked again. “Uh-huh…I’m good,” she said. Meanwhile, the kids were in the den watching TV. Benjamin saw the adults talking and went into the kitchen. “Grandma? Are you okay,” he questions T.J. as he climbed onto her lap. “Yes, Ben…I’m okay…just a little winded is all,” she said. “We don’t wanna lose you, Grandma,” Bryan said as he peeks through the door. “You won’t, Bry…just needed a break,” she said. “You promise?” Benjamin asked her. “Yes,” she said. Then she hugged her grandsons.

Later that evening, Randy was in the bathroom brushing his teeth as Dee Dee lays across their bed reading a romance novel. “Interesting day, huh,” she said to her husband. He was thinking about all of the events leading to T.J.’s sudden panic attack. “Honey? Are you okay,” she spoke up. “Huh? I’m good, Dee,” he said, coming out of the bathroom. He kisses her on the cheek before getting into bed himself. Meanwhile, Marvin was doing some work in the den of his home as his family slept upstairs. A set of footsteps suddenly comes into the room. He felt something poking him in the back. “Hello? Who’s there,” he said to the mysterious figure behind him. “So we meet again…Mister Anderson,” a voice said. He turned around and got a big surprise. “Tiffani…wow,” he said, seeing his wife in a very revealing outfit. Then they started to make out.

Nyisha and Robert went upstairs to check on their five children. Nineteen-year-old Malcolm was watching anime videos on his laptop while his twin brother, Jerome, was strumming on his guitar. Fifteen-year-old Larissa was playing cards with twelve-year-old Lauren as three-year-old R.J. slept in his playpen. “Lights out, you guys,” she said to them. “Okay, Mom,” they all said back. “Good night, fellas,” Robert spoke up. “Good night, Dad,” Malcolm and Jerome said as they each gave him a high five. As the boys played slapbox with their stepfather, Nyisha thought about the night Tarik died. “Um…how are you holding up, huh,” she remembers asking her three heartbroken children. The boys looked at each other before facing their mother. “Not so good, Mom…that woman shot him down–like a dog…how could she do something so horrible,” Nyisha remembers Larissa saying to her. She snapped out of it once a second voice joins in. “Mom? Mom! Are you okay,” the voice said. “Huh?! Oh, I’m fine! It’s been a long day so…I’m going to bed! Good night, Rome…Mal…Rob,” she said. Then she left the room.

The next day, Nyisha meet up with her sisters at the restaurant. “Hey, girls,” she said. “It feels weird now that Tarik’s gone,” Meghan said. “Not to me…that man has ruined our lives once again…finally got what he deserved,” Farrah said. While they were talking among themselves, T.J. had a flashback about her abusive marriage to Tarik. She remembered his exact words that day when he intimidated her. Nyisha tapped her on the shoulder and said, “Hey there…where did you go, huh?” “Huh? I’m here,” T.J. said, “Just wished Meghan would stop taking pity on that evil ass man!” “That’s not what I meant–I’m on your side here, all right…I don’t condone what he did to the girls or to you but I rather see him in prison, not dead,” she yelled. “Okay, you two–back to your corners,” Farrah said, “I’m sure Meghan here didn’t mean to offend you in any way but Tarik was already being punished for what he’s done to this family! No one wanted him to die, T!” “I wanted him dead…from the day I married him…so many sleepless nights of not knowing how he would react–I felt so alone…you have no idea what I’ve been through…none of you do,” T.J. said. “I had those fears too, little sister…I was married to that evil man as well,” Nyisha said. Then the four of them continue their conversation as the waiter comes to the table.

“We would’ve if you told us,” someone spoke up. They all turned around to see Randy and Dee Dee standing there at the door. “Hi, Mom! Hi, Dad,” said Farrah, Nyisha, and Meghan. “How much did you hear,” T.J. asked them. “We heard enough to see how you’re struggling with the fact that the man who abused you all those years ago is dead,” Dee Dee said. “I know I shouldn’t be thinking about it but–I don’t know–I kinda have mixed feelings about this…I should be relieved that he’s gone but  I don’t know how to feel about it,” she said. “Now there’s something you can talk with the therapist about, honey,” said Dee Dee. “You also have us, kiddo,” Randy said. Everyone nodded in agreement. After lunch, T.J. went to see her new therapist. Her last one retired and moved back east. As she sat there in the waiting room, she thought about the events which led to her first breakdown. “Scrolling down memory lane, I see…hi, Tiffani,” someone spoke up. “Aaron? Is that you,” she asked the guy standing next to her. “Of course…what’s going on with you and Marvin…everything good,” Aaron responded. “Yeah, we’re good…what about you,” she said. “Just got engaged last week…supposed to meet her here in a minute though,” he said. As they sat there talking, a woman in a leopard skin dress and black high heels comes in clearing her throat. “Hey, Adrian…you remember my classmate from college, right,” he said. “Of course,” Adrian said, nodding her head. Then she held out her hand with the engagement ring on it.

“So…how are my two favorite ladies doing this morning,” Tyrell asked his brand new wife and stepdaughter. “We’re good, Rell,” Tisha said. The two of them were recently married a few months ago. Tyrell Jr was the best man while Mariah was the maid of honor. It was a small gathering for their family and friends. They are now parents of twins, a boy and a girl. It was kind of a rocky start when the two of them learned about the pregnancy. Tisha was afraid to tell Tyrell the wonderful news since her now deceased boyfriend accused her of trapping him with their only daughter. Kya gave her some words of encouragement and even stood by her side when her little sister told Tyrell that he was going to be a father. Now everything is good with the new couple and their growing family. “Can I borrow fifty bucks, Tyrell,” Mariah asked him. “What do you need fifty dollars for, Ry,” Tisha questioned her daughter. “It’s a secret, Mom,” she said. “Relax, Tish…we raised a good girl…here you go,” Tyrell said. “Thanks…did I mention that you’re the best daddy in the world,” she said. “There it is…best daddy in the world is her dad’s tagline…Boo loves spoiling his little princess when he was alive…I want Mariah to learn moral values, not to be spoiled rotten,” Tisha said. “Ohhh…I get it, babe,” he said, kissing Tisha on the cheek. “Now that I think about it, you should give this back,” Mariah said, putting the fifty dollars on the table. “Thank you,” Tyrell said. “Is it okay if I worked for the money instead,” she asked him. “Of course,” he said. “That-a-girl,” Tisha said. Then Mariah hugged them both and left the room.

Marvin and Brianna were playing a game of spades on the porch when T.J. drove up. “Hey, you guys,” she said to them. “Hi, Mom,” Brianna said. “Hey, babe,” Marvin said, kissing his wife on the cheek. “This game seems intense…who’s winning,” she said, grabbing a nearby chair to sit down. “Me…I’m the champ when it comes to this game,” he said. “I still think that Dad’s cheating, Mom,” Brianna said. “Is that so, huh,” she said. “Stop being a sore loser, Bree,” he said. “We’ll see about that…let’s put your dad in his place,” she said, moving a little closer to her daughter. Moments later, Chuckie drove into the yard. “What up, fam,” he said. “Hi, Chuckie,” said Marvin and T.J. “What’s going on here,” he asked his sister and brother-in-law. “We’re trying to beat Dad in spades, Uncle Chuckie,” said Brianna. “Hey there, kiddo…where’s your better half,” he said. “D had to work so me and Bryan came here for a visit,” she said. “So where is the little guy,” he asked her. “In there with Terrell and Angel,” she said. “Well I’ll leave you to it…gotta see the little ones,” he said. Then he went inside.

“You remember Aaron from college,” T.J. asked her husband. “Yeah…my frat brother…how is he,” Marvin said. “Very engaged…I just met Adrian, his fiancee,” she said. “Wow…didn’t see that coming…he told us that he would never get married,” he said. “Here’s the kicker: he’s my new therapist,” she told him. “Really? You sure he’s qualified for your delicate situation,” he joked. “Says the man who cheats his daughter out of a card game–shame on you,” she said. “So this Aaron guy–he’s not another one of Mom’s boyfriends, is he,” Brianna questioned them. “No…I would never date your father’s friends…where did you get that idea from,” she said to her daughter. “Everyone in this family…Aunt Farrah, Aunt Meghan, Aunt Nyisha–,” Brianna started to say before T.J. covered her mouth. “That was a fatal mistake hearing those names…I’ll kill them later,” she said. “I’ve married your mother for better or worse…three men have tried to tear us apart but we came back stronger than ever,” he said as he held his wife’s hand. “Ouch,” Brianna moaned. “What’s wrong, honey,” she asked. “Your grandchild has been kicking me all day, Mom,” Brianna replied. “You made that choice to get pregnant again…it’s out of my hands, kiddo,” she said. “You tried to kick me out when I was pregnant with Bryan,” Brianna said to her. Then Marvin quietly went in the house.

“I didn’t kick you out, Bree…I could never do that to my child…I’m not Terrell Thompson,” she said. “You would’ve if you wanted…I didn’t want to leave my home,” Brianna said. “But I didn’t…you would’ve hate me for it–I was in that same situation when I was pregnant with Tyrese…I was so angry with your grandmother and Terrell for a long time but I made my peace with them before they died which is why we have a great relationship right now,” she said. “I know the whole story…you were living with Grandpa on and off for two years until Grandma let you back in but I wondered this…why didn’t Grandpa tell you right then that he was your dad,” Brianna said. “It’s a mystery we’ll never figure out,” she said to her daughter. Moments later, Randy was in the kitchen making a sandwich when he heard a knock on the door. He went to answer it and got the surprise of his life. “Hi, ladies,” he said. “Hi, Grandpa,” Brianna said. “Hi, Dad,” T.J. said. “Good to see you again…how was therapy,” he asked his daughter. “It was good considering the fact that it’s an old classmate from college,” T.J. said. “It’s my dad’s frat brother, Aaron,” Brianna said. “Aaron Bradley? I hope we don’t have any issues with this one, Tiffani,” he said. “No, Dad…he’s engaged to be married…I met his fiancee, Adrian…there won’t be any issues because I’m fully committed to my husband,” T.J. said. “Are you sure? We’re just getting over the situation with Josh, remember,” he said. T.J. thought back on those days and said, “Don’t worry, Dad…I’ll never put my family through that ever again…you have my word!” Then the three of them sat down at the kitchen table.

“I have a question to ask you,” Brianna said. “This one here wants to talk to you about a few things,” T.J. said. “Okay…what is it that you want to ask me,” Randy said. “Why did you wait so long to tell Mom and Uncle Chuckie that you were their dad? Mom was living with you for a short time–why didn’t you say something then,” she questioned. “I have been racking my brain about that for a long time…I should’ve told your mom the truth back then…just didn’t know how she would react to that kind of news considering that she was pregnant with Tyrese at the time,” he said. “I wished you did…it would’ve clear up any confusion I had…I wouldn’t have my first breakdown if I knew you were my dad,” T.J. said. “Sorry I waited so long, kiddo,” he said. Meanwhile, Shane was at the bar playing pool with his brothers. “So what’s good, fellas,” he asked them. “I don’t know…feels weird since Tarik died,” Rodney said. “Not to me…I’m glad that little punk’s gone,” Jason said. “How come,” Rodney asked his big brother. “Let me take this one, Jase…the fool has tortured our little sister for years…nearly killed her twice…tried to rape her in front of his current wife…I think Tarik Lane got exactly what he deserved,” Martin said. “You right, man,” Rodney said. Bridget and Brandon were at the restaurant playing spades. Their children were on the floor doing some drawings. “Remember when life was so simple,” she said to her twin brother. “Of course, B…our parents are gone…all we have left now are Uncle Melvin, Deke, Stephen and the Johnsons,” he said. “Wished Mary, Kevin Jr, and Elijah had a chance to meet Dad,” she said. “At least we can tell them about their grandpa when it’s time,” he said. Jeffrey came in and joined his two older siblings. He had a smaller child in his arms. Years after Sheryl’s death, he and April recently learned that they were pregnant. It was a sudden surprise for them considering that they never thought to expand their small family after Matthew. “Hey,” they heard their little brother say. “Hey, Jeff…how’s our little niece doing,” Bridget asked him. “Little Zoey is just fine,” Jeffrey said. “Quick question: do you think it’s wise to name your daughter after the one woman who ruined our parents’ lives,” Bridget said. “Don’t worry about that…my kid ain’t nothing like my biological mom, aight,” he said. Then Brandon chuckled.

“Hey…didn’t expect to see you here…hi,” said Nyisha as T.J. greets her at the front door of the Johnsons house. “I thought I heard someone out here…hello, honey,” Randy said, then hugs his oldest daughter. “Your niece is here, too…talking with Dad here,” T.J. said. While the three of them talked, Brianna screamed in pain. They rushed to the kitchen to see her on the floor. “Bree? What’s wrong, honey,” T.J. asked as she came to her daughter’s side. “That’s the thing…it came out of nowhere,” Brianna said. “How long did you have this pain,” Nyisha asked her niece. “Umm…a few weeks,” she said to them. “Aww, Bree…we’ve talked about this…if anything–anything comes up, you need to tell me,” T.J. said. “I’m sorry, Mom…with everything that’s going on, I didn’t want you to worry about me…please don’t be mad,” she pleaded. T.J. took a deep breath and said, “I’m not mad–look at me–I won’t get mad but I would appreciate it if you give me a heads-up on what’s going on…this baby’s life depends on it as well as yours.” Brianna shook her head in agreement. “Just to be on the safe side–she should be checked out, guys,” Nyisha said. “Mom,” she called out. “Your aunt’s right…we gotta know why you’re having these pains before we end up in the same situation with Bryan’s birth,” T.J. said. “Um…ok,” she said. Two weeks later, T.J. was at the therapist’s office. Aaron was writing on a notepad. “I had no idea this happened to you,” he said. “It’s been years but my mom and dad knew something was wrong…I’m working on it now,” she said. “I promise that I would help you through this,” he said, then held her hand. “I wanna know about this Aaron guy…you girls went to school with him,” Michelle said. “I’m not sure about this…I hate going behind T.J.’s back telling you about Marvin’s frat brother,” Nyisha said. “We both know our little sister has been through hell and back because of three men–one of them which is your dead ex-husband…I hope this guy isn’t like those jerks,” she said. Then they continued talking.

Melvin and Randy were at the bar playing pool while Stephen reads his newspaper. “What do you know about this Aaron guy,” he asked. “I don’t know much about him,” Melvin said. “Terrell has pretty much controlled Tiffani’s life when he was alive…somehow I had a bad vibe about Aaron Bradley,” Randy said. Back at the therapist’s office, T.J. and Aaron were chatting about old times. “Good to see you again,” Aaron said to his former classmate. “Good to see you too,” T.J. said back. The two of them hugged. Suddenly, she felt his hands going below her waist. “I’m not comfortable with this…what are you doing, Aaron,” she whispered. “Shh…ever wonder what could happen for us in college,” he said, then looses the button on her shirt. “I can’t do this…I don’t wanna hurt Marvin,” she said. Aaron pinned T.J. to the door and stuck his tongue down her throat. Within seconds, she stumped on his foot and got out of his grip. She ran outside to her car and locked herself inside. Randy was chatting with Melvin and Stephen when his cellphone buzzed. “I gotta take this…hello,” he said. “I need your help, Dad….can you come pick me up please,” a voice said to him. “Sure…I’ll be right there,” he said, then hung up. “What’s going on,” Stephen asked. “I gotta go…my daughter needs me,” he said. “We’ll go with you…I’ll lock up,” Melvin said. Then they got into their cars and drove away.

T.J. hung up her cellphone and set it down on the passenger seat. She closed her eyes and think back on everything leading to locking the car door. Seconds later, there was a loud bang outside. “Leave me alone…I beg of you…stop,” she screamed. “Open up the door, kiddo…it’s Uncle Melvin,” a voice called out. T.J. looked up to see Melvin standing outside her car. Stephen had Aaron facedown on the hood. “Tiffani…honey…it’s safe to come out,” Randy said. T.J. slowly unlocked the door and came out of the car. “Dad,” she cried out. “It’s okay….I got ya…I’m here now,” Randy said, hugging her tight. “You little punk…you enjoy preying on young women, huh–HUH,” Stephen yelled. “I’m sorry, man…I didn’t mean to…I swear,” Aaron said. “I feel a little dizzy, you guys,” T.J. said. “Why don’t I take you home, okay,” Randy said. “Okay,” she said. “Here’s your phone…I’ll be right behind you guys,” Melvin said. “Get out of here,” Stephen said. Aaron left without saying a word. “I’m so sorry about all of this,” T.J. said. “Don’t sweat it…you called us for help–your mom would’ve been so proud of you…this could’ve end up like the Josh situation but you stopped it…there’s nothing to apologize for,” Stephen said. Then the rest of them nodded in agreement.

Meghan and Farrah were at the diner with their husbands having lunch at one table as their children were playing cards at another. “So, lil sis…how is Ali doing these days,” Farrah questioned. “She’s doing much better…the therapy is really helping a lot…no more waking up late to night terrors or cold sweats…Tarik being dead is probably a good thing,” Meghan said. “You said it, babe,” James said. “He won’t be able to hurt anyone else,” Terrence said to them. Meanwhile, Melissa was at the park with her sisters. “I’m glad that clown’s dead….Marvin was the better choice anyways,” Monica said. “Yep…he won’t be able to hurt anyone else in our family,” Melanie said. “He was kind of a jerk…both him and that warden…she deserved to be fired after the hit she put on our sister a while back,” Trisha said. “At least we won’t go through the same situation like we did with Sam,” Melissa said. T.J. was fast asleep as Randy drove up to a gas station. As he got out of the car, she started to toss and turn. “No…please don’t leave…you promise you wouldn’t leave,” she mumbled. “Tiffani…wake up…I’m right here,” a voice called out to her. “Dad? What’s going on,” she yawned. “You were having a bad dream…mind telling me what’s going on, kiddo,” Randy asked. ” I don’t know…I haven’t had that dream in years…what’s wrong with me, Dad,” she cried. “Whatever it is, we’ll figure it out together,” he said. Then they hugged.

“Hey, you….is everything okay,” Dee Dee said, greeting her husband. “Yeah…just gotta make a call…you gonna be okay out here, honey,” Randy said. “Yes, Dad…I’ll be okay,” T.J. said. “So…it’s been a while since we’ve talked…how are you really doing,” Dee Dee questioned. “I wished Mom was here…I miss her so much,” she said. “So do I…Sheryl was good at these kind of talks,” Dee Dee said. “I was so stupid for trusting Aaron…he came onto me…I got so scared and fought him off…I didn’t want to lose my husband again…I had to fight for my marriage since the Josh situation…I want Marvin to be proud of me,” she said. “Seems like he already is…you didn’t hide what was going on with Aaron from us like you did with Josh…we’re all proud of you for that,” Dee Dee said. “She’s right, little sister,” a voice spoke up. “Michelle? When did you get here,” T.J. questioned. “Your dad called and told me what happened–with Aaron and the dream you had…it’s been so many years–what bring it on,” Michelle said. “To tell you the truth–I don’t know…I haven’t had that dream since Terrell left our mom for Zoey Harris,” T.J. said to them. “Guess we gotta find someone who can help with this except Aaron–he’s caused enough trouble already,” Randy said. “I don’t think I wanna see him after what happened today,” T.J. said. “Good girl,” he said. Then Michelle hugged her sister.

Hours later, the girls drove up to the Andersons house. “You sure you gonna be okay,” Michelle questioned. “Yeah…thanks for the ride…I owe you big time,” T.J. said. “No need…I was glad to do it…you gonna have to tell Marvin about Aaron,” she said. “Could you come with me…I’m afraid to tell him alone…I don’t want another fight with him,” T.J. said softly. Her hands started to shake. “Sure I will…I owe it to Mom to watch out for you,” she said. They got out of the car and went over to the front porch. Marvin came out to greet them. T.J. took a deep breath and told him everything. The next day, Marvin thought back on the recent conversation. T.J. came downstairs and sat down at the kitchen table. There was complete silence. “I never intended to upset you last night…I don’t wanna come between you and Aaron either…please don’t be mad at me…I don’t think I can handle it if I lose you,” she pleaded. “I’m not mad at you…if anything, I’m mad at myself for allowing that guy to be your therapist,” he said, “I knew what I was getting into… we’re in it for better or worse…you’ll never lose me, okay!” “Okay,” she said. Suddenly, there was a knock on the door. “I’ll get it…take it easy…okay, babe,” he said, kissing his wife’s forehead. As Marvin leaves the room, T.J. had a flashback of Terrell leaving his family. “Hey there, little sister…heard what happened yesterday with Aaron,” a voice called out to her. “Hey, Iz…what brings you by,” T.J. said, recognizing her sister’s voice. “I’m just thinking that you might need some cheering up from Nyisha here after the day you had,” Marvin said. “Thank you, Marv,” she said. “We’ll be fine,” Nyisha said. Then Marvin grabbed his briefcase and went out the door.

“You seem a little out of it just now…are you sure you’re okay,” Nyisha asked. “I don’t know…it seems weird having some dream when I was a kid…it’s been years since that happened,” T.J. said. “You mean the one when Terrell left you guys for his secretary,” she said. “Yeah…I’ve never gotten over that,” T.J. said. “Thirty years with that man…I can’t imagine what you’ve been through,” she said. “I hated him…glad he’s dead,” T.J. said. “We don’t have to talk about this…I’m supposed to be cheering you up, kid,” she said. “Nah…I want to…thanks for listening,” T.J. said. “No problem, little sister…I’m always here for you no matter what,” she said, “Just one question: Aaron is your therapist? That couldn’t have gone well!” “Like I have any other choice…Mrs Evans went back east for her friend,” T.J. said. “He was definitely the wrong person for you,” she said. A few hours later, T.J. was fast asleep on the living room couch. Nyisha was reading a magazine when her phone buzzed. “Hello?” she said, leaving the room. T.J. started to toss and turn. As this was going on, Nyisha heard a knock on the door. She went to see who it was. T.J. was mumbling in her sleep. “No…come back please,” she said loudly. Suddenly she felt a tap on her shoulder and woke up screaming. “It’s okay…you were having a bad dream,” a voice said to her. “It felt so real, Michelle…I saw it,” T.J. said, looking up to her sisters. “Dad needs to know what’s going on with you,” Nyisha said. “She’s right, little sister,” said Michelle. Then the three of them hugged.

Randy rushed over as fast as he could. He came onto the porch of the Andersons house where he met up with Michelle. She told him everything that happened. Once they were inside, T.J. sat at the kitchen table motionless. “We didn’t know what to do, Dad,” said Nyisha. “You did the right thing, girls,” he said, “Hey, kiddo! How are you feeling?” T.J. turned to him and said, “Not so good…still can’t shake the dream that I was having!” “I can’t imagine what you’ve been through for all those years but I will do everything to make sure you get the help you need…we’re in this together,” he said. Suddenly they heard a knock on the door. The four of them went to see who it was. “Hello, everyone…long time no see,” said the person in front of them as the door opens. “Hello to you too, Mrs. Evans…it’s been a while since we met you last,” Michelle said. “What about the friend back east…is she okay,” T.J. asked. “Of course she’s okay…right now we should concentrate on you…I heard what happened with the classmate from college…your dad told me everything…he’s worried about you–they all are…how do you feel right now,” Mrs Evans said. “Hurt…confused…it seems like everyone that I meet mistakes my kindness for weakness…I hate feeling this way,” T.J. said. “We’ll figure this out together,” she said. Then T.J. shook her head in agreement.

“Thank you for doing this…T.J. hasn’t been the same since our mom died…I’m glad she has you guys in her life,” Michelle said. “Let’s not forget…she has her siblings, uncle and cousin in her corner too…you kids are important to her as well,” Randy said. “Terrell didn’t handle this situation too well…no offense, Michelle,” Nyisha said. “None taken…my dad taught us to be tough…I don’t condone what he did to our sister…he shouldn’t have kept her and Chuckie away from you, Mr Johnson,” she said. “I wanted to tell her the truth a long time ago but everyone was against it including your mom…sorry it took the girls being kidnapped by a madman to realize that,” he said. “It’s good she has you now,” she said. Meanwhile Aaron was at the diner eating lunch with his fiancee. “I may have screwed up my friendship with Tiffani, Adrian…she’s my frat brother’s wife…I had no idea that she was so fragile,” he said. “Maybe we should make it up to them…you’ll feel better,” Adrian said. “Sure…I’ll do that,” he said. Then he kisses her on the cheek.

“Hey there, sleepyhead…guess who’s here,” a voice called out. “Mom,” T.J. said, rubbing her eyes. “Your dad and your sisters told me you weren’t sleeping too well,” the same voice said. “Nope…I didn’t want you guys to worry,” she said. “You are my daughter…whatever happens to you happens to us…you have a whole room of people to talk to…me, Dee Dee, and your siblings–we’re here for you, okay,” Randy said. “Okay,” she said. “Bet you’re glad to see Mrs Evans after all this time,” Dee Dee asked her. “Yeah…she’s helping me with the dream that I was having,” she said. “Just know that I’m here for you too…one phone call away,” Dee Dee said. T.J. shook her head. “Try to get some sleep, okay,” Randy said. “Okay…I’ll try,” she said. “That-a-girl,” he said as he kisses his daughter on the forehead. “I’ll check up on you girls in the morning,” Dee Dee said before leaving with her husband. “I gotta head out myself…you gonna be okay, little sister,” Michelle said. “Yeah…thanks for being here for me, you guys,” T.J. said. “Of course…get some sleep like your dad said,” she chuckled. “I could stick around for a bit,” Nyisha said. “See you later,” Michelle said to them before leaving the house. “You sure about that,” T.J. said. “Of course,” said Nyisha. Then they continued talking.

Two weeks later, T.J. and Marvin were at the supermarket when Aaron & Adrian approached them. “Hey, bud…I owe you both an apology,” Aaron spoke up. Moments later, the four of them were chatting at a coffee shop downtown. “Thanks for the apology, man,” said Marvin. “Of course…I didn’t want to come between my close friends…if some guy came onto my girl, I might have to punch his lights out,” Aaron said. “He felt really bad for what happened…I hope we can put it all behind us,” said Adrian. “I hope so too,” T.J. said. “I will never do that again…Mr. Johnson and the other two guys scared the crap out of me…he acts like he’s your dad or something,” Aaron said. “It’s because he is my dad,” T.J. said. “I thought Mr. Thompson was your dad,” he questioned. “I thought so, too for the first 30 years of my life…he died with the big secret and I know what it is…everything’s good with me and I got 5 more siblings out of it,” she said. “Oh–wow! That makes Nyisha and Farrah your sisters,” he said, “Two more of my college classmates which are twins by the way, Adrian…one of them said that she would castrate me if I didn’t stop flirting with her!” “It was Nyisha…she told me and Farrah about you bothering her…I wouldn’t call that flirting,” she said. “I really hope you’re over that crush, baby,” Adrian said. “I’m over it…I rather keep the private parts intact than to mess with that one ever again,” he said to his fiancee. Afterwards, the four of them said their goodbyes and went their separate ways.

The next day, T.J. was having a danish and some coffee at the diner when Adrian came in. “Good to see you again,” she said. “Good to be seen…quick question: I don’t have anything to worry about, do I…Aaron having a crush on your sister and all,” Adrian asked her. “Not at all…I believed he learned his lesson and kept his jewels intact…my sister is married to a great guy…you have nothing to worry about,” she said. “Okay…I’ll hold you to those words,” Adrian said. Suddenly Nyisha showed up at the end of the conversation. “Did I interrupt something,” they heard her say. “No…not at all…Adrian, this is my sister, Nyisha…Nyisha, this is Adrian, Aaron’s fiancee,” T.J. said, introducing the girls to each other. “I’ve heard so much about you,” Adrian said. “Same…congratulations,” Nyisha said. “Thank you…I gotta go but it’s nice to meet you, Nyisha…bye,” Adrian said, then went over to the counter to grab her food.

Leave a comment